Jellyfin Forum
SOLVED: Transcoding working for Admin only on Android TV app. - Printable Version

+- Jellyfin Forum (https://forum.jellyfin.org)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-support)
+--- Forum: Troubleshooting (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-troubleshooting)
+--- Thread: SOLVED: Transcoding working for Admin only on Android TV app. (/t-solved-transcoding-working-for-admin-only-on-android-tv-app)

Pages: 1 2


Transcoding working for Admin only on Android TV app. - ndeering - 2024-04-29

Hi all,

My users keep getting errors when playing media on their accounts. When I log in with my admin account I am able to transcode and view the movie properly. 
When I switch over to their account after logging into the admin it also works. However when I remove the admin account after doing so, it will then no longer work again. Has this been an issue for anyone else?

The error code I am seeing is: Player error encountered.

Here is the end of my log:

ffmpeg version 5.1.4-Jellyfin Copyright © 2000-2023 the FFmpeg developers
built with gcc 10 (Debian 10.2.1-6)
configuration: --prefix=/usr/lib/jellyfin-ffmpeg --target-os=linux --extra-libs=-lfftw3f --extra-version=Jellyfin --disable-doc --disable-ffplay --disable-ptx-compression --disable-static --disable-libxcb --disable-sdl2 --disable-xlib --enable-lto --enable-gpl --enable-version3 --enable-shared --enable-gmp --enable-gnutls --enable-chromaprint --enable-libdrm --enable-libass --enable-libfreetype --enable-libfribidi --enable-libfontconfig --enable-libbluray --enable-libmp3lame --enable-libopus --enable-libtheora --enable-libvorbis --enable-libopenmpt --enable-libdav1d --enable-libwebp --enable-libvpx --enable-libx264 --enable-libx265 --enable-libzvbi --enable-libzimg --enable-libfdk-aac --arch=amd64 --enable-libsvtav1 --enable-libshaderc --enable-libplacebo --enable-vulkan --enable-opencl --enable-vaapi --enable-amf --enable-libmfx --enable-ffnvcodec --enable-cuda --enable-cuda-llvm --enable-cuvid --enable-nvdec --enable-nvenc
libavutil 57. 28.100 / 57. 28.100
libavcodec 59. 37.100 / 59. 37.100
libavformat 59. 27.100 / 59. 27.100
libavdevice 59. 7.100 / 59. 7.100
libavfilter 8. 44.100 / 8. 44.100
libswscale 6. 7.100 / 6. 7.100
libswresample 4. 7.100 / 4. 7.100
libpostproc 56. 6.100 / 56. 6.100
[AVHWDeviceContext @ 0x60a9e1ed3d00] No VA display found for any default device.
Device creation failed: -22.
Failed to set value 'vaapi=va:,kernel_driver=i915,driver=iHD' for option 'init_hw_device': Invalid argument
Error parsing global options: Invalid argument


RE: Transcoding working for Admin only on Android TV app. - TheDreadPirate - 2024-04-29

Can you describe your setup? Hardware specs and software configuration? Direct install or Docker?


RE: Transcoding working for Admin only on Android TV app. - ndeering - 2024-04-29

(2024-04-29, 11:10 AM)TheDreadPirate Wrote: Can you describe your setup?  Hardware specs and software configuration?  Direct install or Docker?

HP ProDesk 600 G4 SFF Desktop (Intel i5-8500 6-Core, 16GB RAM, 1TB PCIe SSD, Intel UHD 630)

OS: PROXMOX (Unprivileged Container) Running Ubuntu Jammy 22.04
Since it is an unprivileged container, for security purposes, I had to do a workaround so that the container could access the iGPU, it seems to work fine on the admin account.
https://bookstack.swigg.net/books/linux/page/lxc-gpu-access

Jellyfin Server: 10.8.13 installed via Docker

Docker Compose:

jellyfin:
    image: jellyfin/jellyfin:latest
    container_name: jellyfin
    user: 1000:1000
    volumes:
      - /usr/share/jellyfin/web:/config
      - /var/cache/jellyfin:/cache
      #- /opt/jellyfin/config.json:/jellyfin/jellyfin-web/config.json
      - type: bind
        source: /mnt
        target: /mnt
    restart: unless-stopped
    networks:
    - caddy
    environment:
      - PGID=1000
      - PUID=1000
      - TZ=America/Chicago
      - transcode_cache_size=25GB
    devices:
    - /dev/dri/renderD128:/dev/dri/renderD128
    - /dev/dri/card0:/dev/dri/card0
    ports:
      - 8096:8096
    expose:
      - 8096
#    - JELLYFIN_PublishedServerUrl=http://example.com
    extra_hosts:
      - host.docker.internal:host-gateway


RE: Transcoding working for Admin only on Android TV app. - TheDreadPirate - 2024-04-29

Can you share your jellyfin logs via pastebin?


RE: Transcoding working for Admin only on Android TV app. - ndeering - 2024-04-29

(2024-04-29, 04:53 PM)TheDreadPirate Wrote: Can you share your jellyfin logs via pastebin?

Please let me know if you need more. I singled out one of the plays I attempted and am seeing this.

I appreciate your help!

https://pastebin.com/ig8VN913


RE: Transcoding working for Admin only on Android TV app. - TheDreadPirate - 2024-04-29

I missed this the last post. You need to add the render group to your docker compose with the "group_add" parameter. See my compose example below.

Code:
services:
  jellyfin:
    image: jellyfin/jellyfin:unstable
    container_name: jellyfin-unstable
    user: 105:104
    group_add:
      - "993" # Intel render group
    network_mode: 'host'
    volumes:
      - ./jellyfin-data/config:/config
      - ./jellyfin-data/cache:/cache
      - /media:/media:ro
    devices:
      - /dev/dri/renderD128:/dev/dri/renderD128
    restart: 'unless-stopped'
    extra_hosts:
      - "host.docker.internal:host-gateway"

Use "getent group render" to get the group ID for render on your system.


RE: Transcoding working for Admin only on Android TV app. - ndeering - 2024-04-30

Hi again,

I am not entirely sure it is even a transcode issue. I have not seen any issues on the webapp. I feel like the Android TV app may just be buggy at the moment? When I log out and log back in on the Android tv app it will work. When I then exit the app, reopen it, and play the same content it will give me "player error". Have you seen that before?

Here is what I did based on your instructions, thanks for the help!

"getent group render" returns "render:x:108:root,jellyfin,gauth"

So I added the below to the compose. "jellyfin" in the above is 1000 so added it just in case:

group_add:
- "108"
- "1000"

The issue seems to still persist though even after adding these. Any idea where to go from here?


RE: Transcoding working for Admin only on Android TV app. - ndeering - 2024-04-30

(2024-04-30, 09:24 PM)ndeering Wrote: Hi again,

I am not entirely sure it is even a transcode issue. I have not seen any issues on the web app. I feel like the Android TV app may just have some bugs at the moment? When I log out and log back in on the Android tv app it will work. When I then exit the app, reopen it, and play the same content it will give me "player error". Have you seen that before?

Here is what I did based on your instructions, thanks for the help!

"getent group render" returns "render:x:108:root,jellyfin,gauth"

So I added the below to the compose. "jellyfin" in the above is 1000 so added it just in case: 

group_add:
      - "108"
      - "1000"

The issue seems to still persist though even after adding these. Any idea where to go from here?



RE: Transcoding working for Admin only on Android TV app. - TheDreadPirate - 2024-04-30

Do you have "Allow encoding HEVC format" enabled? If so disable it?


RE: Transcoding working for Admin only on Android TV app. - ndeering - 2024-05-02

Thank you, I disabled it. The issue seems to have to do with the Max Mbps on the app. When I set it to Auto it would more often than not say "player error", when I switched it to 60mbps content seems to work again. I tried another movie, saw "Player error", switched it to 70mbps and it then worked. Does this mean it is not transcoding properly?

I have seen some of my users have their audio transcoded, but video seems to all be direct.

Thanks!