Jellyfin Forum
SOLVED: Metadata wont refresh - Printable Version

+- Jellyfin Forum (https://forum.jellyfin.org)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-support)
+--- Forum: Troubleshooting (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-troubleshooting)
+--- Thread: SOLVED: Metadata wont refresh (/t-solved-metadata-wont-refresh)

Pages: 1 2

Metadata wont refresh - .xvi - 2024-08-15

I have been using Jellyfin for my movies for several months now and I have never had any issues with metadata before. As I've moved through my DVD collection I have now gone from ripping movies to shows, this has proven to be difficult so far as the detected metadata and episode order have been flat-out wrong. Despite having the correct IMDB/TVDB IDs and following the proper file naming convention, Jellyfin will ignore that and mislabel them anyway. As seen in the screenshots below it has the finale episodes labeled there twice yet it is actually the last four episodes and not the last two repeated. It also ignores the names of the first two episodes and gives them the names of the ones after. The individual IMDB/TVDB IDs for each episode are in many cases wrong because of this and manually changing it does nothing no matter how many times I refresh metadata, restart, clear cache, etc. This is EXTREMELY frustrating and any help is much appreciated.

RE: Metadata wont refresh - TheDreadPirate - 2024-08-15

Jellyfin pretty much ignores the episode name in your file name.  It only cares about the season number and episode number.

As for getting the ordering wrong, many shows have multiple orderings.  One for when it aired, another, different, ordering for the DVD box sets. There can also be "absolute" orders, "Arc" orders, even multiples of the same type. Different regions got different box sets with different orders, for example.

By default Jellyfin uses the aired ordering, which often doesn't line up with box sets.