Jellyfin Forum
Transcoding setup issues - Printable Version

+- Jellyfin Forum (https://forum.jellyfin.org)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-support)
+--- Forum: Troubleshooting (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-troubleshooting)
+--- Thread: Transcoding setup issues (/t-transcoding-setup-issues)

Pages: 1 2 3 4


RE: Transcoding setup issues - Deegee88 - 2024-03-13

Same issue - with "Enable hardware encoding" checked https://sourceb.in/vfzXnIjQaO
and without - https://sourceb.in/e9f3bH1HVS

This is the log from when I select "none" in hardware acceleration - https://sourceb.in/mdfXE2s8WF
This is the only way it works.


RE: Transcoding setup issues - TheDreadPirate - 2024-03-13

Run the validation steps for docker, #5 and 6 in the docker section.

https://jellyfin.org/docs/general/administration/hardware-acceleration/intel/#official-docker

What is the output?


RE: Transcoding setup issues - Deegee88 - 2024-03-13

When I try this in the shell I just get the error "Docker not found".
"$ docker exec -it jellyfin /usr/lib/jellygin-ffmpeg/vainfo
/bin/sh: 1: docker: not found"

Apparently they've completely removed docker from Truenas Scale now.


RE: Transcoding setup issues - TheDreadPirate - 2024-03-13

If you open up the shell for the Jellyfin container you can simply run

/usr/lib/jellygin-ffmpeg/vainfo

And

/usr/lib/jellyfin-ffmpeg/ffmpeg -v verbose -init_hw_device vaapi=va -init_hw_device opencl@va

The "docker exec" bit just lets you run commands inside the container from the host shell.


RE: Transcoding setup issues - Deegee88 - 2024-03-13

So for #5:
"$ /usr/lib/jellyfin-ffmpeg/vainfo
Trying display: drm
error: failed to initialize display"

and #6:
"$ /usr/lib/jellyfin-ffmpeg -v verbose -init_hw_device vaapi=va -init_hw_device opencl@va
/bin/sh: 2: /usr/lib/jellyfin-ffmpeg: Permission denied"


RE: Transcoding setup issues - TheDreadPirate - 2024-03-13

And that was done inside the Jellyfin container? Looking over the screenshots you provided, I don't see a way to pass in the GID for the render group from the host.

On the host

Code:
getent group render | cut -d: -f3

If this was a plain docker compose setup you would add the GID from the above command to your yaml.

Code:
group_add:
      - "122" # Change this to match your "render" host group id and remove this comment

Is there an equivalent "group_add" in the UI?


RE: Transcoding setup issues - Deegee88 - 2024-03-13

This is the only thing i can see that has anything to do with Groups.


RE: Transcoding setup issues - TheDreadPirate - 2024-03-13

https://www.truenas.com/docs/scale/scaleuireference/credentials/localgroupsscreens/

So there is a separate groups screen. Add the render group if it isn't there. Then add UID 568 as a member?


RE: Transcoding setup issues - Deegee88 - 2024-03-13

Okay i've added 568 (apps) to the group called Render.
Do I have to change the group ID within the container from 568 to render?


RE: Transcoding setup issues - TheDreadPirate - 2024-03-13

No. That should stay as is. My understanding is that UID 568 being in the render group should be the equivalent of "group_add" in a plain docker setup.