Jellyfin Forum
Jellyfin and VPN - Printable Version

+- Jellyfin Forum (https://forum.jellyfin.org)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-support)
+--- Forum: General Questions (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-general-questions)
+--- Thread: Jellyfin and VPN (/t-jellyfin-and-vpn--1084)

Jellyfin and VPN - Glowing9011 - 2023-09-20

Hello, first of all english is not my main language, so im sorry if i say something weird.

Im kinda new to this self hosting stuff, i managed to use my jellyfin server remotely with tailscale. i pay for proton vpn and use it in all my devices (the server and clients) with the "allways on VPN" and killswitch enabled. My server is on my windows laptop in which i also have qbittorrent to "supply" the server remotely with the webUI, the problem is that i cant use the webUI nor access the server without tailscale, and i cant use tailscale over vpn, is there a way i can access the webUI and the server remotely without turning my vpn off?

Thanks in advance!

RE: Jellyfin and VPN - bitmap - 2023-09-20

Yes. But it's only worth pursuing if you host your services in Docker. You can ignore this advice and read further, but you will not like what you read.

It's likely not worth going down the rabbit hole -- as English isn't your first language, I will rephrase my euphemism. The solution is a LOT of work, requires a LOT of configuration, you will break a LOT of things, and you MIGHT be able to fix them and get it working. The option you're looking for is called split tunneling (you split your VPN tunnel into n+1 lanes of traffic). Essentially wherever you have your VPN configured, you have to figure out how to set it up so that you can split off all the traffic from your Jellyfin server and tunnel it outside of the VPN.