Jellyfin Forum
Thinking of switching to windows or truenas for a new jellyfin build - Printable Version

+- Jellyfin Forum (https://forum.jellyfin.org)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-support)
+--- Forum: General Questions (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-general-questions)
+--- Thread: Thinking of switching to windows or truenas for a new jellyfin build (/t-thinking-of-switching-to-windows-or-truenas-for-a-new-jellyfin-build)

Pages: 1 2

Thinking of switching to windows or truenas for a new jellyfin build - minty6873 - 2023-10-12

So I've been running Jellyfin for years first on an old homebuilt server using a intel 3470 and OMV on linux
then I upgraded to a 11700 again running OMV and linux/docker containers

I've run out of space on that 2nd server, and am building a new 100tb one, and am toying with the idea of using windows or truenas to run the server.
I have been a windows sysadmin for years, and not overly familiar with linux, I muddle through and the server is up but occasionally needs reboots and whatnot, and I'm just not overly comfortable with linux.
 so I'm looking at making a change, plus on my linux builds I've never gotten quicksync to work, most of my stuff direct plays and most devices are compatible, but there are instances where I want to watch something and it won't play on my pc or my kid's ipad, etc.

so I have a couple questions:
1. Is regular windows 10 stable enough to run jellyfin for months at a time with no reboots, and just use a software raid or a jbod for media? has anyone done it or have any comment on it?
2. Is quicksync pretty much automatic through windows?
3. Should I be considering windows server, or truenas if w10 is not stable enough for long term usage? If truenas is the recommendation, is quicksync easy to get working on that?

thanks in advance for any advice.
Worst case I could just go back to linux and omv for the new build, but I'm not especially fond of either to be honest