Jellyfin Forum
Storage Upgrade/Expansion Trouble - Printable Version

+- Jellyfin Forum (https://forum.jellyfin.org)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-support)
+--- Forum: General Questions (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-general-questions)
+--- Thread: Storage Upgrade/Expansion Trouble (/t-storage-upgrade-expansion-trouble)

Storage Upgrade/Expansion Trouble - SevenDaysOfFire - 2023-10-16

I apologize in advance if this is somewhat long-winded, but I'm still learning and have far too many questions..  Bought some new hardware and I'm not sure if I can use it the way I had hoped.

Like the description states, I'm looking to increase my current storage capacity in a way that allows for expansion in the future if needed, and that hopefully also has some sort of redundancy in the inevitable event of a drive failure down the road.

My current setup has my Jellyfin installation as a docker container on an Ubuntu VM, in Hyper-V on a Windows 2019 server.  All my storage (just about 16tb of usable drive space) is in a separate NAS box I built running TrueNAS, but I'm quickly running out of free space and I'm not really a fan of how you add capacity to a current pool with ZFS/TrueNAS.

To remedy this, my thought was to buy a new server with enough HDD space so that I would no longer need the NAS.  I found a great deal on a Dell Poweredge R720, but in my excitement to upgrade I didn't read up on the difference between the R720 and the R720XD..  So now I have an R720 with 8x2TB 2.5" drives, which once I RAID5 is less capacity than the NAS I'm looking to leave behind.

My desire to no longer use the NAS is rooted in the acquisition of a sizeable 4 post server rack and wanting everything neatly mounted inside, instead of having a separate PC case next to it filled with hard drives.

So now I'm at a crossroads with no clear 'best' direction forward.