Jellyfin Forum
When i reboot i need to use chmod for transcoding to work - Printable Version

+- Jellyfin Forum (https://forum.jellyfin.org)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-support)
+--- Forum: Troubleshooting (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-troubleshooting)
+--- Thread: When i reboot i need to use chmod for transcoding to work (/t-when-i-reboot-i-need-to-use-chmod-for-transcoding-to-work)



When i reboot i need to use chmod for transcoding to work - 34626 - 2023-10-18

I have just installed Debian 12 on my Intel NUC 11 N5105 today, due to a upgrade on the internal SSD and have always had this issue using Intel Quick Sync, but QSV works great!

First I moved my docker folder to my new instance and ran it with docer-compose up -d (from inside the folder) and it launched fine and runs fine, but when it comes to transcoding im having a hard time understanding it. The reason is, if i reboot, then i need to run "sudo chmod -R 666 /dev/dri/renderD128"

Why do i always need to do that, to get access to use the GPU?

I have added both UID, user and jellyfin for render in /etc/group

In the docker-composer.yml, i've added this, for the GPU access:
    devices:
    - /dev/driConfused-facedev/dri

But, when i restart, i need to run:
sudo chmod -R 666 /dev/dri/renderD128

I use UID 1000 and GID 1000, why it should use the primary user as i understand it..


RE: When i reboot i need to use chmod for transcoding to work - TheDreadPirate - 2023-10-18

What does your docker compose look like?  In addition to adding your user to the render group, did you pass the render group into the container?

This should be in your compose file

Code:
    group_add:
      - "122" # Change this to match your "render" host group id and remove this comment

https://jellyfin.org/docs/general/administration/hardware-acceleration/intel/#configure-with-linux-virtualization


RE: When i reboot i need to use chmod for transcoding to work - 34626 - 2023-10-19

Thanks for the fast reply, here is a copy of my docker-compose.yml file:

https://pastebin.com/raw/aJcGYgNf

I didnt use " and " on the group_add, because i tried to search further and others didnt, but i will of course correct it, if needed, but can you confirm if it should beset up correct?


RE: When i reboot i need to use chmod for transcoding to work - bitmap - 2023-10-19

Compose V3 doesn't support group_add. It doesn't work how people expect it to anyway. Everybody wants to use it to add the group ID of video/render outside the container. This might work, but not always. That flag adds the user inside the container to a group inside the container, so IDs need to be verified within the container for groups or semantic group names should be used. Just to reiterate, group_add won't work if you're specifying Compose V3.

Make sure your host user is the ID you expect and that it has been added to BOTH the video and render groups. If you don't see video and render (should be correct for Debian I think?) listed in the groups list for the host user, add them with...

Code:
usermod -aG <group_id or name>

This requires sudo privileges. I might also specify exactly which device you're using in as I've had issues using the generic /dev/dri path (iGPU will be /dev/dri/renderD128 and /dev/dri/card0). You can add both in your devices block by specifying the same designation on both sides of a colon; essentially copy what you have and add the specific devices.


RE: When i reboot i need to use chmod for transcoding to work - Deleted User - 2023-10-19

(2023-10-19, 03:08 PM)bitmap Wrote: (should be correct for Debian I think?)

yes, also in debian

-

addition, use 'groups <username>' to list the current groups a user is a member of