Jellyfin Forum
Apple TV Audio - Printable Version

+- Jellyfin Forum (https://forum.jellyfin.org)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-support)
+--- Forum: General Questions (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-general-questions)
+--- Thread: Apple TV Audio (/t-apple-tv-audio)

Apple TV Audio - Ben Herbert - 2023-10-29

Hi all, I'm new to Jellyfin after years of being with Plex but have completely lost faith in them after them not fixing the playback issues on the ATV so thought I would give Jellyfin a try!

The first issue I'm trying to fix is that I don't get any sound when playing either TrueHD 7.1 or DTS MA 5.1, but these play fine through Plex, is there a setting a need to adjust for them to play?

RE: Apple TV Audio - jimmyjammy - 2023-10-30

Are you using Swiftfin as the client on the ATV ? It's a great player but, I believe, it still has issues with some sound formats. You might want to use "Infuse 7" as your client on the ATV. It will handle both TrueHD 7.1 & DTS MA 5.1 as well as "Direct-Play" pretty much any video format.
Cheers !  Upside-down-face

RE: Apple TV Audio - Ben Herbert - 2023-10-30

(2023-10-30, 02:12 AM)jimmyjammy Wrote: Are you using Swiftfin as the client on the ATV ? It's a great player but, I believe, it still has issues with some sound formats. You might want to use "Infuse 7" as your client on the ATV. It will handle both TrueHD 7.1 & DTS MA 5.1 as well as "Direct-Play" pretty much any video format.
Cheers !  Upside-down-face

I am using Swiftfin. I downloaded Infuse too which is working well but I preferred the interface on Jellyfin, looks like I'll have to stick with Plex and just use Infuse for playing media. How is it Infuse can do it no problem but both Plex and Swimfin have problems playing media on Apple TV?!

RE: Apple TV Audio - jimmyjammy - 2023-10-30