Jellyfin Forum
Playback error on folders list (Photos library with home videos) - Printable Version

+- Jellyfin Forum (https://forum.jellyfin.org)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-support)
+--- Forum: Troubleshooting (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-troubleshooting)
+--- Thread: Playback error on folders list (Photos library with home videos) (/t-playback-error-on-folders-list-photos-library-with-home-videos)

Playback error on folders list (Photos library with home videos) - nonobio - 2023-07-02

Hi,

I'm new to Jellyfin,  but first I want to say thank you for this software, it seems to be great Smiling-face.

I have an annoying problem:
I have created a Photos library for my home videos and I have a Playback Error: This client isn't compatible with the media and the server isn't sending a compatible media format. when I try to Play All or Shuffle on my folder list (from web or android client, even from local web client where is installed Jellyfin).

The issue is present event if I have only one or two video in this simple folder structure:

G:\mainfolder\subfolder\videofile1.mp4
---------------------------\videofile2.mp4

[Image: 252128697-e9ec8d8f-57e9-463d-b2aa-d4d7f1eea757.png]

If I press the 3 dots buttons on subfolder and press Shuffle or start playback on videofiles list (inside subfolder), playback works:
[Image: 252128794-868a1181-2db1-483d-b26e-87e1096146b4.png][Image: 252128838-6cc40056-303d-45c6-aed6-3412a13ce2af.png]

Do you have an idea of the problem?

Steps to reproduce the issue
  1. Put videofile1.mp4 and videodile2.mp4 into G:\mainfolder\subfolder\
  2. Add Media Library
  3. Content type: Photos
  4. Display name: homevideos
  5. Folder G:\mainfolder
  6. Ok, Ok
  7. Go to Media: homevideos
  8. Play All or Shuffle

Jellyfin Version

Environment
- Clients: Browser, Android
- Browser: Chrome 114.0.5735.199
- FFmpeg Version: ?
- Playback Method: Direct Play
- Hardware Acceleration: none