Jellyfin Forum
PC or Streaming Box - Printable Version

+- Jellyfin Forum (https://forum.jellyfin.org)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-support)
+--- Forum: General Questions (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-general-questions)
+--- Thread: PC or Streaming Box (/t-pc-or-streaming-box)

Pages: 1 2

PC or Streaming Box - CmdRiker - 2023-11-26

Hello,

I am new to Jellyfin, and streaming in general. I used to have a Western Digital WDLive unit years ago and it worked pretty good, most of the time, to "stream" movies from my Synology NAS.

Today I installed Jellyfin on my Synology NAS and configured it etc.. I can see my movies in Jellyfin and play them on my computer. But, what is the best way to be able to play the movies on my NAS, via Jellyfin, in my home theater ? I have an Anthem AVM-90 processor which is brand new. My TV is a "dumb" TV, a Panasonic Vierra Plasma, 1080P only but still looks great.

I've got some 1080P movies I ripped from BluRay to my NAS that I want to play through my new AVM-90. Do I need a "streaming box" ? like Apple TV, Roku, etc.. ? or can I use a Linux computer that has HDMI out, Intel i5 13600K with built in CPU graphics, connected to my network ?

I don't mind spending money to make this work properly, I'm just not sure what is the best way? my primary goal is best performance of video and audio from the HD BD movie files (MKV) on my NAS. Was looking at some Zidoo players, but might have more features than I need just to play movies.

I am planning on upgrading the TV to a newer 4K OLED or similar in a few months.

Thank you !

RE: PC or Streaming Box - TheDreadPirate - 2023-11-26

Money no object, the Nvidia Shield is probably the best client for your kind of setup.

RE: PC or Streaming Box - CmdRiker - 2023-11-28

Thanks for the recommendation. Money no object for me would be a Kaleidescape system with a MadVR Extreme, but that setup would run me about $30,000 Canadian, and that's a bit out of my budget ;-)