Jellyfin Forum
Importing M3U Playlists - Printable Version

+- Jellyfin Forum (https://forum.jellyfin.org)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-support)
+--- Forum: General Questions (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-general-questions)
+--- Thread: Importing M3U Playlists (/t-importing-m3u-playlists)

Pages: 1 2

Importing M3U Playlists - wbravin - 2023-11-26

Hello all

I am new to Jellyfin.

Until now I was using Kodi as my media player. 

I subscribe to the notion that music can help with your mood. 

Therefore in Kodi I currently have circa 160 albums and over 400 CDs.

I listen to my music exclusively by means of a playlist (which i have over 90 ranging from  my wakeup playlist that has 4 songs to my driving driving playlist that will last over 20 hours and over 70GB of music carefully sorted to change mood while driving)

Therefore to recreate these playlists is a major undertaking.

Kodi build M3U playlist

The music dataset used by Jellyfin is the same  as the used for Kodi. Therefore the location and naming of the media files is identical

When i build a playlist in Kodi the playlist is save in a playlist folder on my NAS and Kodi is configured to loads the playlist from there and play it.

This folder is now loaded into Jellyfin as it is included in the music folder loaded into jellyfin

The M3U playlists now loaded into Jellyfin cannot be played via Jellyfin and i get: 
Playback Error
This client isn't compatible with the media and the server isn't sending a compatible media format.

What are my options? can i play Kodi's M3U playlists in Jellyfin? if yes How?

Thank you in advance for taking the time to read this and for any assistance provided

RE: Importing M3U Playlists - Maxy TV - 2024-01-22

Hello friend!
I'm also working with m3u on my Jellyfin, in my case with movies and series, although I believe it works the same way as with music.