Jellyfin Forum
Jellyfin in offline mode - Printable Version

+- Jellyfin Forum (https://forum.jellyfin.org)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-support)
+--- Forum: General Questions (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-general-questions)
+--- Thread: Jellyfin in offline mode (/t-jellyfin-in-offline-mode)

Jellyfin in offline mode - xyncro - 2023-12-04

Hi!

I'm new to Jellyfin and have only used it for a couple of months now.
It serves my purpose fine, however i haven't found a way to how i can display my covers in offline mode.

I have a couple of drives i've mounted through my computer and locally into my Jellyfin.
The drives have been scanned successfully and given me most of the covers for the movies automatically, but some i need to search myself.
I've not created any access from internet, i'm only using Jellyfin locally or through my Android Jellyfin app (dlna to my LG tv) for now.

Now to my hickup..
When i close my computer, so will even the drives which means there is no access to the physical movie file, i'm ok with that.

But, if i access Jellyfin through computer or my Android phone without having the drives connected to my computer, i would have wanted that the covers where available to view through some cache, but they are not, it looks as Jellyfin was new installed each time.

What i would like is that i could (only) view my Jellyfin catalog either on computer or on my Android phone through the app, with the drives disconnected.

Is that a setting somewhere that i might have missed..?

Thx!

RE: Jellyfin in offline mode - Efficient_Good_5784 - 2023-12-04

That is not how Jellyfin works and there's no setting for what you want to do. Jellyfin expects to always have access to your media files.

If I'm understanding this correctly, you want to be able to have title images be cached so that they appear when the drives containing the media are removed? If so, even if that was how it worked, you can't open them since Jellyfin will give you an error.