Jellyfin Forum
Debating Jellyfin on NAS - Printable Version

+- Jellyfin Forum (https://forum.jellyfin.org)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-support)
+--- Forum: General Questions (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-general-questions)
+--- Thread: Debating Jellyfin on NAS (/t-debating-jellyfin-on-nas)

Debating Jellyfin on NAS - CRS10114 - 2024-01-03

Hi there,

I am building a NAS, and wanted to use Jellyfin for local media streaming. Here's the parts list:

CPU: AMD Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard: ASRock B550M-ITX
RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws V 16GB (2 x 8GB) @ 3600MHz
Storage: 4x Toshiba N300 Pro 4TB 3.5" 7200 RPM + a leftover 128GB NVMe SSD to use as the boot drive
Case: Jonsbo N2 NAS Case

The Ryzen 5 3600 is a leftover from my partner's build. I am new to this side of personal computers, so I have a couple questions:

1. If I am only going to be streaming locally (max 3 streams, but most likely just 1 at a time), would the CPU I have be sufficient? I have read that AMD in particular sucks at transcoding. The devices should all support the formats I would be streaming (MP4 and MKV), so perhaps this isn't even an issue.
2. Should I install TrueNAS SCALE and have Jellyfin running on the NAS, or should I just point Jellyfin to the NAS from whichever device I am trying to stream to?

Any help is appreciated. Please let me know if I need to provide any other information.

RE: Debating Jellyfin on NAS - 34626 - 2024-01-03

If you dont need transcoding, you could go way smaller on the CPU, i dont know how bad AMDs CPUs are compared to Intel CPUs, but i have read that Intel should be best some time ago.. But if transcoding is not needed, you could simply use a Raspberry pi 4/5 - If direct playback is used, it wont use much CPU..

RE: Debating Jellyfin on NAS - tmsrxzar - 2024-01-03

(2024-01-03, 06:56 PM)34626 Wrote: you could simply use a Raspberry pi 4/5