Jellyfin Forum
SOLVED: JF Suddenly Stopped Working (noob) - Printable Version

+- Jellyfin Forum (https://forum.jellyfin.org)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-support)
+--- Forum: Troubleshooting (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-troubleshooting)
+---- Forum: Networking & Access (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-networking-access)
+---- Thread: SOLVED: JF Suddenly Stopped Working (noob) (/t-solved-jf-suddenly-stopped-working-noob)

Pages: 1 2

JF Suddenly Stopped Working (noob) - ronnymcdonald - 2024-01-11

Hey all, on 1/5/2024 I decided to use an old Acer laptop as a media server (I have zero experience in this). I hooked the PC straight to my Ubiquiti router (which I fixed the IP address to; and it is using Google Fiber) via ethernet and installed Ubuntu Server on the PC. I followed this guide mostly to install Jellyfin and Samba. 

The server and Jellyfin were running perfectly fine until today when Jellyfin just randomly stopped working on all my devices (Chromecast, PC, and mobile phone). The Jellyfin log in page UI was showing on my browser, but it would give me an error when I tried to log in (something about being unable to access the server). I thought that maybe restarting the server or even restarting Jellyfin could work, so I SSH'ed a restart through my PC, but now the Jellyfin UI doesn't even show up when I try to access the server in Chrome (through http://192.xxx.x.xxx:8096/), and Chrome just shows that the site can't be reached.

The server is still showing as connected through my Ubiquiti router, FYI. Also, I do know that I'm a little low on disk space (I plan on adding external hard drives soon), if that affects anything. Any help would be very appreciated, as I'm pretty new to all this Smiling-face

Also, I'd include logs but I'm not 100% sure of the command to access the logs through SSH. 

RE: JF Suddenly Stopped Working (noob) - TheDreadPirate - 2024-01-11

Your logs are in /var/log/jellyfin/. Give us the latest jellyfin log.