Jellyfin Forum
SOLVED: Collections show as empty, "Requested value 'SongCount' was not found." - Printable Version

+- Jellyfin Forum (https://forum.jellyfin.org)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-support)
+--- Forum: Troubleshooting (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-troubleshooting)
+--- Thread: SOLVED: Collections show as empty, "Requested value 'SongCount' was not found." (/t-solved-collections-show-as-empty-requested-value-songcount-was-not-found)



Collections show as empty, "Requested value 'SongCount' was not found." - NaturalBornCamper - 2024-01-12

Hello all,

I have a very strange issue, after migrating to a new server on Windows, my server shows none of my custom collections. The screen loads for fraction of a second, then shows nothing. When I checked in the log (debug-level logging), I'm getting a strange error every time I open "Collections":

Code:
[2024-01-11 23:33:36.114 -05:00] [DBG] Error converting value.
System.FormatException: SongCount is not a valid value for ItemFields.
---> System.ArgumentException: Requested value 'SongCount' was not found.
  at System.Enum.TryParseByName(RuntimeType enumType, ReadOnlySpan`1 value, Boolean ignoreCase, Boolean throwOnFailure, UInt64& result)
  at System.Enum.TryParseInt32Enum(RuntimeType enumType, ReadOnlySpan`1 value, Int32 minInclusive, Int32 maxInclusive, Boolean ignoreCase, Boolean throwOnFailure, TypeCode type, Int32& result)
  at System.Enum.TryParse(Type enumType, ReadOnlySpan`1 value, Boolean ignoreCase, Boolean throwOnFailure, Object& result)
  at System.Enum.TryParse(Type enumType, String value, Boolean ignoreCase, Boolean throwOnFailure, Object& result)
  at System.ComponentModel.EnumConverter.ConvertFrom(ITypeDescriptorContext context, CultureInfo culture, Object value)
  --- End of inner exception stack trace ---
  at System.ComponentModel.EnumConverter.ConvertFrom(ITypeDescriptorContext context, CultureInfo culture, Object value)
  at Jellyfin.Api.ModelBinders.CommaDelimitedArrayModelBinder.GetParsedResult(IReadOnlyList`1 values, Type elementType, TypeConverter converter)

What's even weirder is that I can even use the context menu of movies and click "Add to collection" then create a new one, then that collection shows up in library.db and in ProgramData\Jellyfin\Server\data\collections. All my previous collections are also in the database and in the same folder. Checked the paths and everything is ok.

When adding media to a collection however, none of my collections show up.. including the new one I just created as a test

So it looks like there is an issue somewhere when trying to list the existing collections. The "SongCount" error doesn't show up in the log when the window "Add to Collection" shows up if I try to add media to a collection (which I thought it would, since it's also trying to load the existing collections.

I don't know where to look anymore. I searched inside ALL the files and the whole database the word "collections" in case I would find a clue. By the way all the rest of the migration worked well, all movies, tv shows, subtitles, plugins, users, passwords, authorization keys, avatar images, metadata work perfectly, playback is working, etc etc.

Thanks guys!
-NBC


RE: Collections show as empty, "Requested value 'SongCount' was not found." - TheDreadPirate - 2024-01-12

Was the version of Jellyfin the same on both servers? The path for all your media is in exactly the same path as the previous server? When moving files from one machine to the next, the permissions might not transfer so double check permissions.


RE: Collections show as empty, "Requested value 'SongCount' was not found." - niels - 2024-01-12

Feels like a version mismatch between the frontend and backend


RE: Collections show as empty, "Requested value 'SongCount' was not found." - NaturalBornCamper - 2024-01-12

(2024-01-12, 05:32 AM)TheDreadPirate Wrote: Was the version of Jellyfin the same on both servers?  The path for all your media is in exactly the same path as the previous server?  When moving files from one machine to the next, the permissions might not transfer so double check permissions.

Old server = Jellyfin 10.8.13 on Linux (No Docker or complicated paths, simple install using DietPi)
New server = Jellyfin 10.8.13 on Windows Server 2022 (again no Docker shenanigans)

For the migration, I checked the existing migration script that goes from Windows to Linux, but it didn't work from Linux to Windows (buggy, issues with paths, etc) so I made my own in Python with all those replacements:
Code:
# library.db and text file replacements
('/data/media/movies', 'X:/Movies'),
('/data/media/series', 'Y:/Series'),
(r'\\192.168.0.52\movies\Movies', r'\\192.168.0.52\Movies\Movies'),
(r'\\192.168.0.52\tv\Series', r'\\192.168.0.52\tv\Series'),

# For the custom filters containing these
('/series/', '/Series/'),
# For the custom filters containing these
('/movies/', '/Movies/'),

# Seen those in files
('/mnt/dietpi_userdata/jellyfin/metadata', 'C:/ProgramData/Jellyfin/Server/metadata'),
("/etc/jellyfin", "C:/ProgramData/Jellyfin/Server/config"),
("/mnt/dietpi_userdata/jellyfin/cache", "C:/ProgramData/Jellyfin/Server/cache"),
("/var/log/jellyfin", "C:/ProgramData/Jellyfin/Server/log"),
("/mnt/dietpi_userdata/jellyfin", "C:/ProgramData/Jellyfin/Server"),
("/mnt/dietpi_userdata/jellyfin/transcodes", "C:/ProgramData/Jellyfin/Server/transcodes"),
("/usr/lib/jellyfin-ffmpeg/ffmpeg", "C:/Program Files/Jellyfin/Server/ffmpeg.exe"),
("/usr/share/jellyfin-ffmpeg", "C:/Program Files/Jellyfin/Server/ffmpeg.exe"),

The script checks every single database table, row, column and does the replacements, as well as every single file it manages to open as text without throwing an exception (so not only xml files, also mblink files, etc)

Everything worked perfectly, even the watched status and metadata was reused... until I noticed the empty collections a week later. Then I saw that I had not not seen this replacement:
/collections  -> \collections
So I checked the files and the DB, made the replacements, but still nothing so I don't get it.

(2024-01-12, 06:32 AM)niels Wrote: Feels like a version mismatch between the frontend and backend

How can you have a mistmatch between the Server and the Web? Don't they come packaged together as a single installation?

Ok... I opened the web interface again to send a screenshot that I thought might be helping... and all the collections are back 0_o

I didn't do anything since yesterday so I'm extremely confused now. Maybe after I ran the replacements /collections -> \collections, there was a cache issue and it just needed to refresh. But no matter, not it seems it's fixed so I'm sorry for wasting everybody's time!