Jellyfin Forum
database & file system cleanup issues - Printable Version

+- Jellyfin Forum (https://forum.jellyfin.org)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-support)
+--- Forum: Troubleshooting (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-troubleshooting)
+--- Thread: database & file system cleanup issues (/t-database-file-system-cleanup-issues)

database & file system cleanup issues - Tombar - 2024-01-13

Hi all,

first of all sorry if I missed anything in configuration. I am new to Jellyfin. Until now I used Kodi and Plex but really like to fully migrate to JellyFin.

Yesterday I added Movies / TV Shows and activated to display missing episodes. Today I now realized that I do not really want to have this as I quite often do not have all seasons. Mostly only the latest 1-2 seasons. Rest is already deleted.

I wanted to do a fresh start and fully deleted the created libraries.

1. But why are the libraries still visible on the homepage even after the libraries got deleted? Yes they are empty now but still visible.

As I now have not a single media file anymore I was also curious if the data folder got cleansed.
  1. The "cache\temp" and "cache\images" folders still contain a significant amount of data. Should this not be deleted? Can I trigger the cleanup somewhere manually?
  2. The library.db is 53MB even without having any library configured?
  3. The "metadata\People" did not got cleaned at all. Why are all actors still listed despite not having anything within the library?
  4. "metadata\library" seemed to got cleansed but there are still several items left. I checked them and they are all poster.png files which show in most cases the title pictures of 3-4 different TV shows within one poster. Why is that still there? Can I somewhere trigger a cleanup?

I tried within the scheduled tasks area to run the database optimization etc. but this did not change anything.