Jellyfin Forum
Jellyfin PC Location - Printable Version

+- Jellyfin Forum (https://forum.jellyfin.org)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-support)
+--- Forum: General Questions (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-general-questions)
+--- Thread: Jellyfin PC Location (/t-jellyfin-pc-location)

Jellyfin PC Location - Batsy - 2024-01-21

Okay so this may sound dumb but I'm very new to this. Currently I have have jellyfin setup on a mini pc. This pc I have placed in the living room which is central to my house. It is running on wifi and I don't really have any issues but I was thinking about it and I wanted some clarification.

Does it matter if the actual pc running the server is in the middle of the house or will any device on my LAN just be using whatever connection they are getting to the router. 

My thinking was any device say the Chromecast with googletv that is connecting to jellyfin is connecting to the pc to access jellyfin and not just the network so having the pc be central to the house would make sense, or should I just direct plug it in to the router even though its in a far corner of the house.

Again this might sound dumb but I'm unsure if it matters where the actual physical device is or if it just depends on whatever signal the device watching the content is getting from my router. We really don't have any issues with it running on wifi but if this could make it more stable for the future I would gladly move it but if the location of the device itself does matter I would rather leave it on wifi so everyone has the best connection to it.

Thank you for any responses and sorry if this hard to understand, I will try to respond to any additional info request if needed.

RE: Jellyfin PC Location - tmsrxzar - 2024-01-21

unless you are serving wifi from the jellyfin server then the location won't matter, the wifi devices will still connect to the router first