Jellyfin Forum
Transcoding in Kodi - Printable Version

+- Jellyfin Forum (https://forum.jellyfin.org)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-support)
+--- Forum: Troubleshooting (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-troubleshooting)
+--- Thread: Transcoding in Kodi (/t-transcoding-in-kodi)

Pages: 1 2 3

Transcoding in Kodi - Theetjuh - 2024-01-31

Hi,

I am still quite new to Jellyfin, but I got transcoding working properly from the iPadOS app and in the web portal.
I have been using Kodi for ages, so want to use Jellyfin as the backend for Kodi as well.

I can play files perfectly with native as in normal mode, but trying to transcode doesn't seem to work.
I tried going through the logs, but couldn't really find something weird.

Hope any of you could give a helping hand and point into the right direction.

For testing purpose I installed a fresh new kodi install on my Windows 11 machine and setup the plugin .. that's it.

Thanks in advance!

RE: Transcoding in Kodi - mcarlton00 - 2024-01-31

What issue are you having exactly? Also which clienet addon are you using? Both jellyfin-kodi and jellycon have options in the settings to transcode certain formats, as well as an option to transcode from the context menu when you long click an item.

RE: Transcoding in Kodi - tmsrxzar - 2024-01-31

sounds like the user is simply unaware that the transcoding settings are in the jellyfin for kodi addon settings

open the addon settings, go to playback
from here you can use the checkboxes for each codec and set maximum bitrate

RE: Transcoding in Kodi - Theetjuh - 2024-01-31

I use Jellyfin for Kodi (plugin.video.jellyfin) and I use the context menu to engage transcoding, also tried to force transcoding from the settings menu.
The issue I have is that nothing happens, the audio/video doesn't play, just an endless circle spinning.