Jellyfin Forum
SOLVED: Can't connect to local server - Printable Version

+- Jellyfin Forum (https://forum.jellyfin.org)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-support)
+--- Forum: Troubleshooting (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-troubleshooting)
+--- Thread: SOLVED: Can't connect to local server (/t-solved-can-t-connect-to-local-server)

Pages: 1 2

Can't connect to local server - Doug4Music - 2023-07-22

I cannot connect to the Jellyfin server from anywhere on the internal network except from the server host machine. I'm only wanting to connect from within my local internal network at this point.

I'm not a network expert, but I've set up DD-WRT, OpenWrt Lede LuCi, run Smoothwall and pfSense in the past following online documentation and am willing to follow instructions. I've searched the forums and documentation but so far no joy.

I sure would like to get Jellyfin running. I ran Plex and it just worked with no port forwarding rules. But I much prefer open source!

Specifics:
Fresh install of Jellyfin 10.8.10 running on Windows 10 on local network on DD-WRT v3.0-r48393 std (02/18/22) router.

Access from localhost:8096 - OK
Access from 127.0.0.1:8096 - OK

From other PCs on local network: "No servers have been found by the automatic discovery" 
From other PCs on local network specifying 192.168.x.xx:8096 "Connection failure We're unable to connect to the selected server right now. Please ensure it is running and try again."
But I can ping 192.168.x.xx from PCs on local network.

From iPhone Swiftfin app on local WiFi network: "No local servers found"
From iPhone Swiftfin app on local WiFi network specifying 192.168.x.xx:8096: not successful, (just "Cancel" while searching, then "Connect" after not connecting)

From Roku Jellyfin app on local network: not found
From Roku Jellyfin app on local network specifying 192.168.x.xx:8096: "Error: [-28] Connection timeout after 30008 ms"