Jellyfin Forum
New to all this several questions - Printable Version

+- Jellyfin Forum (https://forum.jellyfin.org)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-support)
+--- Forum: General Questions (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-general-questions)
+--- Thread: New to all this several questions (/t-new-to-all-this-several-questions)

New to all this several questions - bathtub_gin - 2024-02-13

SO as my title says I am new to the whole media server thing. I upgraded my HT to a 4K projector and a 7.3.4 Atmos surround and I have decide to rip all my Blu-rays and UHD 4k disks and serve them up on demand. I was going to go with Zidoo and one of their z20pro server systems but some friends recommended i try plex or Jellyfin and so I installed them both. Plex ios not for me as the interface is just to clunky and it always seems to be a big pain to do anything. Jelly fin seems to be very close to what I wanbt but I do have a few questions but first where I am .

I have installed it and also the Jellyfin media player on a HTPC that feeds my Processor/amp via HDMI. If it matters the pc has an Nvidia RTX 2070 super in it and a rayzen 3600x cpu and 16 gb RAM.
I need to use the media player because it seems to be the only way to bitstream to my avr. If I use the web browser interface that went along with my set-up I just get decoded multi-channel pcm.