Jellyfin Forum
Hardware recommendations for a pure media station? - Printable Version

+- Jellyfin Forum (https://forum.jellyfin.org)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-support)
+--- Forum: General Questions (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-general-questions)
+--- Thread: Hardware recommendations for a pure media station? (/t-hardware-recommendations-for-a-pure-media-station)

Pages: 1 2

Hardware recommendations for a pure media station? - DingleBob - 2024-02-23

Hello there,

I'm new to the home media center party. I would like to assemble a NAS with the main purpose of running Jellyfin and a torrent client on the side.

I will mostly be streaming to my TV but I want to keep the door open for future use-cases: to also stream to my phone when I'm not at home. Also it would be nice if maybe 4 or 5 people could stream at the same time.

So what I know so far:
- 2 Bays (RAID 1)
- Intel (from what I heard it is better for transcoding)

As an OS I plan to go with nixOS as I'm familiar with linux systems.

I have not much clue were to start or how to figure out which parts I should hunt for.

I'm happy about any kind of recommendation or advice!
have a nice day!

RE: Hardware recommendations for a pure media station? - TheDreadPirate - 2024-02-23

IMO, skip buying a "NAS" and just build a computer with hard drives in it. If you have a bunch of servers that need shared storage, that justifies buying a NAS. But that NAS can still be just a computer with hard drives in it.

To answer your question requires a bit more info. What is your budget? And how many users, besides yourself, do you plan to potentially serve? Will you have HDR content?

Even if you are familiar with Linux, I would still recommend using Debian or a Debian based OS since we have a lot of automation scripts and documentation for them.

RE: Hardware recommendations for a pure media station? - DingleBob - 2024-02-23

Sorry forgot to give more specific details.