Jellyfin Forum
Jellyfin on a RPI4 4GB with 4K media - Printable Version

+- Jellyfin Forum (https://forum.jellyfin.org)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-support)
+--- Forum: Troubleshooting (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-troubleshooting)
+--- Thread: Jellyfin on a RPI4 4GB with 4K media (/t-jellyfin-on-a-rpi4-4gb-with-4k-media)



Jellyfin on a RPI4 4GB with 4K media - hzq23x - 2023-07-28

Currently got Jellyfin running in a container on an old laptop with 16GB RAM and transcoding support with Intel. My dad is suddenly on my ass and wants the laptop back, the only other option I've got to migrate my system to is a RPI 4 currently running Home Assistant OS.

Can I shift to running both Home Assistant and Jellyfin running in containers on the RPI 4 (4GB RAM) without taxing the system resources?
Also worth noting that most of my current media is 4K H.265. 

Would transcoding work and if it does will it bottleneck the system?
Currently just starting to dive into the Linux and container rabbit hole so excuse my excessive questioning.


RE: Jellyfin on a RPI4 4GB with 4K media - hov - 2023-07-29

(2023-07-28, 03:03 PM)hzq23x Wrote: Currently got Jellyfin running in a container on an old laptop with 16GB RAM and transcoding support with Intel. My dad is suddenly on my ass and wants the laptop back, the only other option I've got to migrate my system to is a RPI 4 currently running Home Assistant OS.

Can I shift to running both Home Assistant and Jellyfin running in containers on the RPI 4 (4GB RAM) without taxing the system resources?
Also worth noting that most of my current media is 4K H.265. 

Would transcoding work and if it does will it bottleneck the system?
Currently just starting to dive into the Linux and container rabbit hole so excuse my excessive questioning.

Transcoding is a no go for the Raspberry Pi 4. It's GPU simply isn't strong enough to handle any transcoding. If you got clients that can direct play x265 4K, that'd be fine on a raspberry pi.

If you're worried about sharing system resources between HA and Jellyfin, recommend adding cpu and ram limits to your containers. Below is my docker compose for both in my setup:
Code:
  jellyfin:
    image: jellyfin/jellyfin
    container_name: jellyfin
    group_add:
      - "106"
    environment:
      - PUID=1000
      - PGID=100
      - TZ=America/Los_Angeles
    volumes:
      - ./jellyfin/config:/config
      - ./jellyfin/cache:/cache
      - /srv/dev-disk-by-uuid-XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX/downloads:/14TB/downloads
      - /srv/dev-disk-by-uuid-YYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY/downloads:/8TB/downloads
      - /Music:/Music
    ports:
      - 8096:8096
      - 8920:8920
      - 465:465
      - 587:587
      - 143:143
    devices:
      - /dev/dri/renderD128:/dev/dri/renderD128
    restart: unless-stopped
    cpus: '4'
    mem_limit: 4g
  homeassistant:
    container_name: homeassistant
    image: "ghcr.io/home-assistant/home-assistant:stable"
    volumes:
      - ./homeassistant:/config
      - /etc/localtime:/etc/localtime:ro
    restart: unless-stopped
    privileged: true
    network_mode: host
    cpus: '2'
    mem_limit: 2g

Notice the last 2 lines of each container section showing cpu and mem limits

Also, this is the wrong subforum lol


RE: Jellyfin on a RPI4 4GB with 4K media - Venson - 2023-09-08

Moved from Jellyfin Forum -> Support -> Guides, Walkthroughs & Tutorials