Jellyfin Forum
SOLVED: Migrating back to old Laptop - Printable Version

+- Jellyfin Forum (https://forum.jellyfin.org)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-support)
+--- Forum: Troubleshooting (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-troubleshooting)
+--- Thread: SOLVED: Migrating back to old Laptop (/t-solved-migrating-back-to-old-laptop)

Pages: 1 2

Migrating back to old Laptop - Trey1287 - 2024-03-18

I'm fairly new to Jellyfin and I recently got a new Macbook. I've been running Jellyfin on my new computer but I want to go back to using my old laptop as my dedicated server. I've been searching for the solution to this but I cannot figure out how to migrate back to my old machine.

I uninstalled and reinstalled Jellyfin on the old laptop, but I still get an invalid password error.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

RE: Migrating back to old Laptop - TheDreadPirate - 2024-03-18

Are you trying to migrate the jellyfin data from the new laptop to the old laptop? Or just using a fresh install on the old laptop?

RE: Migrating back to old Laptop - Trey1287 - 2024-03-18

I'm open to either honestly. I want to go back to using the old laptop as my primary server. Again, I'm a fairly new user but I don't see a way to change my server option on either computer. When I reinstall Jellyfin on the old laptop, it just brings me to the sign in page. I'm able to sign in when I go to localhost:8096 but that's just signing in to the new computer's server.

I can supply logs from either computer, but I haven't been able to find a solution so far. Thanks for the reply!

Reinstall on the old laptop. From your new laptop I'm assuming you tried using your old laptop's IP and it brings you to a prompt to login. If so, clear your browser cache.