Jellyfin Forum
Jellyfin Android App Disconnecting - Printable Version

+- Jellyfin Forum (https://forum.jellyfin.org)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-support)
+--- Forum: Troubleshooting (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-troubleshooting)
+--- Thread: Jellyfin Android App Disconnecting (/t-jellyfin-android-app-disconnecting)

Jellyfin Android App Disconnecting - EXSuun - 2024-04-18

Hi all,

I'm new at this so sorry in advance if I've missed anything that is needed to troubleshoot this issue - please let me know and I'll include it.

I have set up Jellyfin with docker compose. I can access it through my browser with no issues. 
I'm having an issue with the android app where if I minimise the app to play in the background (while using other apps) or lock my phone the music will cut out in about 30-60 seconds. I am using a Google Pixel 6 pro, I've tried to disable the battery optimisation stuff as per the advice I've seen in different reddit threads but I fear that Google have removed or obfiscated the ability to do so in their resent OS updates.

So far the Jellyfin app has unrestricted data and background operations permissions but there's no specific option to disable optimisation for apps anymore. I have also disabled it phone-wide. 

If I leave the app open on my phone then it won't disconnect so I am assuming that the issue is being caused by the phone. The other option I tried was to download the findroid app but that doesn't show any media after connecting to the server, completely blank. 

After checking the logs, this is what it reports when the Jellyfind app on my Pixel 6 Pro disconnects...

2024-04-18 10:39:56 [00:39:56] [INF] [45] Jellyfin.Api.Helpers.MediaInfoHelper: User policy for jorummedia. EnableAudioPlaybackTranscoding: True