Jellyfin Forum
Set up advice: directories and navigation - Printable Version

+- Jellyfin Forum (https://forum.jellyfin.org)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-support)
+--- Forum: General Questions (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-general-questions)
+--- Thread: Set up advice: directories and navigation (/t-set-up-advice-directories-and-navigation)

Set up advice: directories and navigation - malebron - 2024-05-02

Hello - I'm new to Jellyfin, and wondering how to organize directories and file-names to work the way I want.

I have collected many terabytes of media over the years, much of which does not meet the required naming conventions. Fixing that is a daunting task (one of the reasons I resisted moving to a media server like JF for so long)

My plan is to start with an empty Jellyfin instance and slowly move things across piece-by-piece, renaming files (if needed) as I go. The question is (i) how to organize directories - and (ii) can I set things up to browse like I used to?

Today my media is organized by nested directories. I use Kodi simply as a front end to navigate the directories and play the files. For example:
  TV-Shows => UK Drama => Mysteries => Cozy => Poirot => Series 8 => Poirot - 8x01 - Evil Under the Sun - David Suchet - (2001).avi
OR:
  Documentaries => Science => Space => Solar System => Mars => Mars Secret Science => Mars.The.Secret.Science.Series.1.4of6.Mars.Deepest.Mysteries.720p.mkv

So far, my research suggests that many people just put everything in one giant folder (like "TV shows") and let metadata do the work. Maybe with tags?? I can't imagine how that would work. Sounds like that might be good if you're searching for a specific thing, but what about browsing? It feels like you'd have a lot of scrolling to do! Is it possible to set up genres, categories and sub-categories?