Jellyfin Forum
Problem importing multiple disc albums - Printable Version

+- Jellyfin Forum (https://forum.jellyfin.org)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-support)
+--- Forum: Troubleshooting (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-troubleshooting)
+---- Forum: Media Scanning & Identification (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-media-scanning-identification)
+---- Thread: Problem importing multiple disc albums (/t-problem-importing-multiple-disc-albums)

Pages: 1 2

Problem importing multiple disc albums - mellowjello - 2024-05-10

I'm new to Jellyfin and feeling my way around at the moment but i'm a bit surprised by the approach used for album grouping. I have a large music collection and after importing, loads of albums got split by disc because they're all in sub-folders named 'CD1', 'CD2'... Upon reading a few forum posts and the user guide section on Music > discs I tried renaming some test albums so each sub-folder was 'Disc 1', 'Disc 2'... But it didn't fix the problem. I also tried 'CD 1', 'CD 2'... The albums i've tried all have ID3 metadata for disc number and total # discs. They also get grouped without issue in every other media manager i've ever used (VLC, Foobar2000, JRiver, Plex, etc). Generally with a metadata based grouping priority of: Album Name > Disc # > Track #

Is it true there's a naming format I can use for disc sub-folders that will ensure they get grouped correctly within a single album? The idea of piling all my disc tracks into one folder isn't appealing. I would need to re-number all the files or they'll be a jumbled mess as they all start 01. 02. 03. etc. Most music ripping tools default to numbering tracks and files in this way. Although it's still a lot of work, renaming the folders seems like my only option.