Jellyfin Forum
SOLVED - Will not play .avi files - Printable Version

+- Jellyfin Forum (https://forum.jellyfin.org)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-support)
+--- Forum: Troubleshooting (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-troubleshooting)
+--- Thread: SOLVED - Will not play .avi files (/t-solved-will-not-play-avi-files)

Pages: 1 2

SOLVED - Will not play .avi files - Huecuva - 2024-05-21

I have Jellyfin running in a headless Debian VM on Proxmox. My VM has a GTX1070 passed through to it for the purpose of transcoding. I put it in the server several years ago so I don't remember for sure, but I think I recall nvidia-smi resulting in the expected information about the GPU. The other night my girlfriend and I were watching movies and I noticed that Jellyfin would not play any .avi files. I don't recall having this many issues playing movies in Jellyfin in the past. I've been using it for three or four years at this point and I don't remember it having trouble playing so many movies. I checked the jellyfin logs and learned that jellyfin does not seem to detect a cuda device, however inxi -F, nvidia-detect, and lspci all list my GTX 1070 as present and that it is supported by all drivers, though there appears to be no driver loaded for it. When I attempt to use nvidia-smi now it says that it cannot communicate with the driver. Elsewhere, I have read that purging the nvidia driver and reinstalling should solve that issue. I have purged and reinstalled the driver several times and nvidia-smi still cannot communicate with it. 

To be honest, I'm not even 100% certain that the driver is the reason Jellyfin will not play .avi files, but since Jellyfin doesn't seem able to detect a cuda device it seems like the driver might be related. If anyone here can help me figure this out, it would be much appreciated.

RE: Will not play .avi files - Fate - 2024-05-21

post the jellyfin log and transcoding logs to pastebin.
post the output of "vainfo"