Jellyfin Forum
Possibilities to customize index - Printable Version

+- Jellyfin Forum (https://forum.jellyfin.org)
+-- Forum: Development (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-development)
+--- Forum: Plugin Development (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-plugin-development)
+--- Thread: Possibilities to customize index (/t-possibilities-to-customize-index)

Possibilities to customize index - marcelv - 2024-05-27

Hi all,

This is my first post here and as a software developer I am currently investigating if I will be able to customize several features of Jellyfin to meet my personal needs. This means that I want to implement one or more plugins for Jellyfin that will allow me to what I want if at all possible. That is what this question is about and if things are possible, if there are any rough pointers to the interfaces that allow me to do what I want.

The DLNA navigation tree is something I would like to change to my personal preference. However, currently this tree is fixed and seems to be dependent on the different data fields available in the index when browsing my music library. Is this correct? Is there a way to customize the navigation tree any other way, so that I can add multiple levels, like Artist/Album, or Artist/Year, or Genre/Artist?

Now into the other customizations. This is based on the fact that when I encode my FLAC files (from owned CDs), I add additional, non-standard Vorbis tags to the files. All music servers and music players use the ARTIST tag to display the recording artist, and the ALBUMARTIST tag to identify the artist of the entire album, etcetera. Added to these tags I also add other tags, for example ARTISTSORT, that contains the sortable name of an arist, COMPOSERSORT that contains the sortable name of a composer, and some other additional tags.