Jellyfin Forum
SOLVED: Playback Error - New User/Setup - Printable Version

+- Jellyfin Forum (https://forum.jellyfin.org)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-support)
+--- Forum: Troubleshooting (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-troubleshooting)
+--- Thread: SOLVED: Playback Error - New User/Setup (/t-solved-playback-error-new-user-setup)

Playback Error - New User/Setup - cjsmile999 - 2024-06-01

Hello All!

Hoping to enlist some help from the experts.  I'm brand new to Jellyfin and just installed version 10.9.3 on Windows 10.  I've loaded up a few movies and I see them successfully added to the library.  However when I click to play any of them I receive the following error "Playback Error - Playback failed due to a fatal player error".  It does that for any movie.  I'm doing this directly from the server from Chrome browser.  I can successfully launch the movie from Windows Explorer (just testing the movies weren't corrupted).  I've attached the log file.  Help to get Jellyfin working would be much appreciated.

Thank you,
CJ

RE: Playback Error - New User/Setup - TheDreadPirate - 2024-06-01

Did you setup transcoding correctly? ffmpeg crashed.

What are your server specs?

RE: Playback Error - New User/Setup - cjsmile999 - 2024-06-01

Good morning! Everything from a transcoding I left as default (no settings were modified). I don't intend to play any movies outside of my home network. Below are my server specs (I know quite dismal).

Version 10.0.19045 Build 19045
Other OS Description Not Available
OS Manufacturer Microsoft Corporation
System Model 500-a60
System Type x64-based PC
Processor AMD A6-5200 APU with Radeon™ HD Graphics, 2000 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 4 Logical Processor(s)
Embedded Controller Version 255.255
BIOS Mode UEFI
BaseBoard Product 2B05
BaseBoard Version 1.00
Platform Role Desktop
Secure Boot State On
PCR7 Configuration Binding Not Possible
Locale United States
Hardware Abstraction Layer Version = "10.0.19041.3636"