Jellyfin Forum
Jellyfin NAS Perfmance - Printable Version

+- Jellyfin Forum (https://forum.jellyfin.org)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-support)
+--- Forum: General Questions (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-general-questions)
+--- Thread: Jellyfin NAS Perfmance (/t-jellyfin-nas-perfmance)

Jellyfin NAS Perfmance - Kiekan - 2024-08-15

Hello all,

I have been using Jellyfin on my main Windows device for several months now and have been loving it.

I am planning on migrating my media library (which primarily consists of 1080p HEVC files) to an budget-ish external storage solution in the coming weeks and wanted get some feedback on which solution would provide better performance for Jellyfin specifically, as this will be the main usage of this device. I am new to NAS configuration and still learning. I am planning on having mostly in-house streaming with a small group of friends connecting remotely (using Tailscale).

My first solution is just to keep it simple and use a Terramaster F4-424 NAS.

The F4-424 comes with an Intel Alder Lake N95 processor and I would be upgrading it to 16 GBs of RAM. I would be populating this with 4x 8TB storage drives in RAID.

Alternatively, I was considering using a mini PC (specifically Minisforum UN100D). This device has pretty comparable specs, using an Intel Alder Lake N100 CPU, 16 GBs of RAM. I would be connecting this to a QNAP TR-004 DAS, with a similar 4x 8tb HDD solution. The reason for including the DAS would be to have hardware RAID.