Jellyfin Forum
Port multipliers on PCIe X1 2.0 SATA expansion card - Printable Version

+- Jellyfin Forum (https://forum.jellyfin.org)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-support)
+--- Forum: General Questions (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-general-questions)
+--- Thread: Port multipliers on PCIe X1 2.0 SATA expansion card (/t-port-multipliers-on-pcie-x1-2-0-sata-expansion-card)

Port multipliers on PCIe X1 2.0 SATA expansion card - The Majest - 2024-08-20

Hello everyone! I'm new to the forums but have been running Jellyfin on my old desktop for about a month and am really happy with how it's going so far. However, I'm running out of SATA ports on my Asrock B450m HDV, so I'm thinking of using the PCIe x1 slot to add a SATA expansion card. Since I'm new to large-scale media storage and data hoarding, I have a few questions. Please correct me if I'm wrong!

While researching PCIe SATA expansion cards, I noticed that most controllers come with 2 to 4 ports. However, some manufacturers add port multipliers to extend the number of ports to 6, 10, or more. From what I’ve read, these multipliers aren't popular because they split the bandwidth of the original port. Also that the multiplied ports can't be accessed simultaneously, which might cause data issues (am not too sure of this one). Despite these drawbacks, the idea of extra SATA ports is too tantalizing so, for my peace of mind: Is it a bad idea to use a PCIe SATA expansion card with multiplied ports solely for Jellyfin media storage?