Jellyfin Forum
Can't play movie when transcoding is off, but works via dlna? - Printable Version

+- Jellyfin Forum (https://forum.jellyfin.org)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-support)
+--- Forum: General Questions (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-general-questions)
+--- Thread: Can't play movie when transcoding is off, but works via dlna? (/t-can-t-play-movie-when-transcoding-is-off-but-works-via-dlna)

Can't play movie when transcoding is off, but works via dlna? - Kiesel - 2023-08-24

Hi, 

I have a movie that I am trying to play with jellyfin. I needed to turn transcoding off, but the client (LG G2) then says it can't play the file.

Which normally is fair enough, but I noticed, that the same file can be played by the G2 via dlna (hosted by kodi).

I am new to this so this might be a stupid question, but: is that normal? I thought dlna just hands the file over to the client? But then it shouldn't be able to play the file.

Are there some options I can try within jellyfin(besides transcoding) so that the file can be played anyway?

Thanks!

RE: Can't play movie when transcoding is off, but works via dlna? - TheDreadPirate - 2023-08-24

I can't speak for Kodi or DLNA. But we would need to know more about the video itself. Like what codec the video and audio is using.

One of the most difficult aspects of Jellyfin clients are device profiles. What the device can and can't play. Or how the client interprets the device profile and gets it wrong. Resulting in this kind of situation where it transcodes unnecessarily.

Having said that. Is there a reason you're avoiding transcoding? Does your hardware not perform well enough to transcode? No GPU? Do you have an AMD GPU and the transcode quality is garbage?

RE: Can't play movie when transcoding is off, but works via dlna? - Kiesel - 2023-08-24

Sorry, I should have provided that info immediately

According to mediainfo:
Video:

Codec ID                                : V_MPEGH/ISO/HEVC

Audio: