Jellyfin Forum
Cannot Connect Android App to Desktop Server - Printable Version

+- Jellyfin Forum (https://forum.jellyfin.org)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-support)
+--- Forum: Troubleshooting (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-troubleshooting)
+--- Thread: Cannot Connect Android App to Desktop Server (/t-cannot-connect-android-app-to-desktop-server)

Cannot Connect Android App to Desktop Server - littleradio - 2024-09-12

Hello all, after about 2 days worth of searching, asking AI, and pulling my hear out, as a networking novice, I am finding connecting my android app and desktop client on a Debian server to be entirely impossible with my current understanding of all this. This is a plea, and I hope you all will have a wee bit of mercy, but I would like some help.

I had initially tried Jellyfin via CasaOS, which didn't work at all. "Tried 5 candidates for input, without success." I can SSH into the server no problem using my laptop, so I know it's visible at least to that degree. Also I have allowed all necessary ports via UFW, so that doesn't seem to be an issue. I'm not using any sort of proxy, dns, or anything since this is all on my own home network (and frankly for trial purposes only until I can confirm it will work). Remote access is enabled, and everything else is left untouched. I have tried accessing the server through all the possible names and addresses my server could possibly have, and none of them work. 

Am I missing some underlying networking understanding? Am I crazy? Please let me know if you have any insights or corrections for absolute beginners.

Thank you for your time.

RE: Cannot Connect Android App to Desktop Server - TheDreadPirate - 2024-09-12

CasaOS uses docker for Jellyfin, correct? Do you know what networking type is used? Bridge or host?

RE: Cannot Connect Android App to Desktop Server - littleradio - 2024-09-12

Hello, thank you for replying.