Jellyfin Forum
Issues playing certain things on the TV? - Printable Version

+- Jellyfin Forum (https://forum.jellyfin.org)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-support)
+--- Forum: General Questions (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-general-questions)
+--- Thread: Issues playing certain things on the TV? (/t-issues-playing-certain-things-on-the-tv)

Issues playing certain things on the TV? - AceOfSerberit - 2023-08-28

So I'm quite new to using JellyFin, but am totally loving it!
The thing is that while I can watch anything fine on my laptop (that hosts the server) and on my phone via the app (granted with some issues. but none relevant to this post). There are a group of files I'm struggling to play on the TV, anime.

So I have a fairly extensive library of anime, and while I don't have all renamed and moved to the uploaded folder. It's still my most packed one. And when I try to play files from it it just refuses to play. At first I got around it by starting the play by casting it from my phone to the TV, but today that too failed me. All I get is a black screen. But cartoons, live action shows and movies are working fine.
At first I thought that the issue was in the files themselves, but yesterday I had made a separate folder for some less family friendly anime. Planning to keep them separate so I can more easily share access to the regular anime folder with others. Attempting it on a whim, they played just fine on the TV.

Would I be correct to assume that the playback issue stems from the folder size? or am I missing something? I'd really rather not make a ton of folders for all my anime...

I'd appreciate any help.
And I'm sorry but I don't know what info about my tech or set-up would be relevant or not. So if anything is needed I'll be more then happy to provide it

RE: Issues playing certain things on the TV? - TheDreadPirate - 2023-08-28