Jellyfin Forum
Stuttering on direct play of higher resolution files - Printable Version

+- Jellyfin Forum (https://forum.jellyfin.org)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-support)
+--- Forum: Troubleshooting (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-troubleshooting)
+--- Thread: Stuttering on direct play of higher resolution files (/t-stuttering-on-direct-play-of-higher-resolution-files)

Stuttering on direct play of higher resolution files - mossedoughnuts - 2024-10-20

Hi, I'm new to this i would like to thank before hand for the help i appreciate it. I am having trouble playing some media, below the details.

Version: Jellyfin server version 10.9.10
Installation Method and Platform: Installed on a bare-bones Windows 11 machine.
Brief Description: Stuttering on direct play of higher resolution files, while lower resolution files play without issues.
Full Explanation: I’m experiencing stuttering when playing higher resolution media on my LG OLED55C2PUA TV with webOS 8.3.0-29. 
For less demanding files, such as 360p H.264 SDR with AAC stereo audio, they play perfectly fine. However, when I try to play more demanding files like a 1080p H.264 SDR video or Video:4K HEVC HDR with Audio: English - Dolby Digital+ - 5.1 - Default, the playback stutters. Specifically, the video plays for two seconds, stutters, plays for 15 seconds, then stutters again.
Jellyfin reports that the video is using direct play when this happens. If I lower the Quality to something significantly lower, the video transcodes and plays smoothly, but the quality suffers, which I want to avoid. The issue seems most common with files higher than 1080p.