Jellyfin Forum
Unsure about Hardware for Media Server - Printable Version

+- Jellyfin Forum (https://forum.jellyfin.org)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-support)
+--- Forum: General Questions (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-general-questions)
+--- Thread: Unsure about Hardware for Media Server (/t-unsure-about-hardware-for-media-server)

Unsure about Hardware for Media Server - JonnyBrate - 2023-09-04

Hello everyone,

I am very new to this and very nervous.  
I am looking to get into using Jellyfin and building a home media server to go with it. 
I will not do any computing tasks with it, just for media.

I want to spend as little as possible on this. 
In my house we have about 5 TVs that would want to stream, maybe not always at the same time , but it would help knowing that the server could handle it. It will be running Windows and people will be streaming 1080p to 1080p max. if transcoding is needed. 

My current list of Hardware is as follows:

CPU - Ryzen 5 5600G
MB - Gigabyte A520I
Ram - 16GBs 3200 Gskill
PSU - Seasonic Focus 550w
Some noname SSD

Should I be looking into getting a dedicated GPU or is my Setup OK for my use case as is? Would you change anything?
I want to keep power consumption and price as low as possible while still getting good streams for everyone in my house.

Thank you kindly in advance for your answers!

RE: Unsure about Hardware for Media Server - bitmap - 2023-09-04

No need to be nervous! Jumping into a new hobby should be fun. It can be frustrating at times, but that's part of the learning process -- learning a new thing is almost never easy.

As for hardware, the mantra is: match your media to your clients. In other words, make sure your clients are capable of playing everything you have on your server and you could basically run Jellyfin on a potato and not have to worry about it (seriously, a Raspberry Pi is enough if you follow this mantra).