Jellyfin Forum
Pixelated Colors - Printable Version

+- Jellyfin Forum (https://forum.jellyfin.org)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-support)
+--- Forum: Troubleshooting (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-troubleshooting)
+--- Thread: Pixelated Colors (/t-pixelated-colors)

Pixelated Colors - hdjv - 2023-09-08

Hello,

I'm a newbie when it comes to high quality video playback, graphics settings and the like.

I'm just trying to figure out why there is pixelating and fuzziness occurring in the some of the color. It's a 4k MKV file (which is about as much as I know about the file), so I figured it should look a bit smoother.

Is there a setting I should tweak? Is the file just not great quality? 

Attached photos below.

Thanks in advance!

RE: Pixelated Colors - bitmap - 2023-09-08

What's your host OS for the server? Can you run mediainfo or ffprobe and provide the results here? Looking for codec, stream information, etc...

Also, logs from when you took that screenshot (or if you can recreate it) would be helpful. Generally what you're seeing is that something is either a) not the quality you think it is or b) it's not compatible with the client you're playing it on so it's being transcoded which is going to lower the quality, sometimes significantly.

RE: Pixelated Colors - TheDreadPirate - 2023-09-08

IMO, that looks like it is transcoding. Either to a really low bit rate or the GPU is older.

Your jellyfin log should contain a "TranscodeReason" field for the playback.

RE: Pixelated Colors - nyanmisaka - 2023-09-08

Looks like the macroblocks is caused by insufficient bitrate. Can you share the FFmpeg.Transcode*.log?

Also, what is your GPU model?

RE: Pixelated Colors - hdjv - 2023-09-08

Thanks for the replies, here's some more info.

The host OS is Windows 11.

Here is the media info for the file.

Here are the logs the appeared when watching back that scene.