Jellyfin Forum
SOLVED: First-Time Setup: slow scanning & screen load times - Printable Version

+- Jellyfin Forum (https://forum.jellyfin.org)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-support)
+--- Forum: Troubleshooting (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-troubleshooting)
+--- Thread: SOLVED: First-Time Setup: slow scanning & screen load times (/t-solved-first-time-setup-slow-scanning-screen-load-times)

First-Time Setup: slow scanning & screen load times - mbklein - 2023-09-13

Hello! I'm a new Jellyfin user, switching over from Plex, which I've been using for the past 3 years. My media library is close to 6 terabytes.

I spun up Jellyfin about 2 hours ago and pointed it at my library. The “Scan Media Library” progress got to about 40% fairly quickly, but has been inching its way up from there excruciatingly slowly. I'm prepared to wait it out; I understand that's a lot of content to scan and metadata to download.

The thing I'm concerned about is the app loading/navigation time. Whether in the browser or in the iPhone app, it takes a good 5-10 seconds after each tap or click before the next screen loads, whether it's an index, details, or whatever. It takes quite a while for streaming to start when I try to play anything as well. My logs are full of "Slow HTTP Response" warnings. Is this just because the initial scan is eating up system resources, or is there something I should be looking at to speed things up? I'm also seeing a bunch of “image extraction failed” and “unsupported codec” warnings in the logs.

Other pertinent information:
  • I'm running in a Docker container on a Synology DS418play with 16GB RAM. (I realize it might be a little light in the CPU department, but it ran Plex like a champ, and it's got hardware encoding.) I'm using host networking and the service has 2048 CPU shares.
  • I've got Jellyfin behind a reverse proxy, but I'm getting the same results on my local network addressing the server directly.