Jellyfin Forum
Synology + HDR Content - Printable Version

+- Jellyfin Forum (https://forum.jellyfin.org)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-support)
+--- Forum: General Questions (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-general-questions)
+--- Thread: Synology + HDR Content (/t-synology-hdr-content)

Synology + HDR Content - SendPiePlz - 2023-09-18

I will preface that I am new to both Jellyfin and 4K Blu-ray HDR ripping.

I setup a Jellyfin server running in docker on my Synology DS1520+ NAS from the official repo following the Jellyfin guide on the website. I was able to upload a 4K HDR mkv rip of Dunkirk to my NAS and watch it on my 2021 12.9in iPad Pro (With the MiniLED screen) with the Swiftfin app without any playback issues. (No stuttering or tearing and scrubbing worked well)

However, I felt that the movie did not appear to actually be playing in HDR. Being on an iPad I have no real way to verify other than my eyes, but that got me looking into how HDR works on Jellyfin. (Also, not sure if Dunkirk is just a bad HDR movie).

From what I have read from Jellyfin's documentation I need basically any modern CPU or GPU that isn't ARM based to be able to transcode HDR on the Jellyfin server. The NAS has an ARM based CPU/GPU.

This is where my first question comes into play, if I uploaded HDR content to Jellyfin and play it on an HDR compatible device like an iPad does it do any transcoding? While watching on the iPad is nice, I plan to do most of my movie viewing on a Windows computer. This computer has an RTX 4080 and an OLED ultrawide from Dell so HDR should be fully supported. (I know it is when playing games).

But in either of these cases would the Jellyfin server actually be transcoding anything for the end devices or are the end devices handling the HDR? (I read something about offloading the HDR transcoding to the end device in the documentation but didn't fully understand it)