Jellyfin Forum
SOLVED: Intermittent Extremely Slow Stream Speeds on LAN only - Printable Version

+- Jellyfin Forum (https://forum.jellyfin.org)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-support)
+--- Forum: Troubleshooting (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-troubleshooting)
+---- Forum: Networking & Access (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-networking-access)
+---- Thread: SOLVED: Intermittent Extremely Slow Stream Speeds on LAN only (/t-solved-intermittent-extremely-slow-stream-speeds-on-lan-only)

Pages: 1 2

Intermittent Extremely Slow Stream Speeds on LAN only - St. Glocktopus - 2023-08-03

Okay so I'm absolutely stumped on this one. I have spent many days and too many hours trying to identify this issue and I'm hoping someone has experienced similar or has knowledge on how to find/fix. I'm a sysadmin for a living but networking is not my strong suite.

Setup details simplified breakdown:
=====

My setup is a SuperMicro SuperServer (specs available if needed) running Ubuntu 22.04.2 LTS with all the latest updates for all apps applied. I have Jellyfin running directly on the machine (no docker) using Apache2, Letsencrypt/certbot, and a domain provided by my router from Tp-Link and DDNS to point to it. I have a static Public IP from my ISP as well.

All of my devices are hard-wired to my network via Cat6 cables and 3 unmanaged switches rated for 1GB throughput each. I have fiber internet with 250/250mbps. I have verified the speeds are consistent to beta.speedtest.net while hardwired with every ethernet cable in use by connecting my laptop and verifying speeds are consistent for 3x tests on each cable, each port, each switch (absolutely a pointless test but I had to ensure my hardware wasn't the issue).

====

On to the issue ~