• Login
  • Register
  • Login Register
    Login
    Username/Email:
    Password:
    Or login with a social network below
  • Forum
  • Website
  • GitHub
  • Status
  • Translation
  • Features
  • Team
  • Rules
  • Help
  • Feeds
User Links
  • Login
  • Register
  • Login Register
    Login
    Username/Email:
    Password:
    Or login with a social network below

    Useful Links Forum Website GitHub Status Translation Features Team Rules Help Feeds
    Jellyfin Forum Support Troubleshooting SOLVED: Playback error on browser but not mobile

     
    • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

    SOLVED: Playback error on browser but not mobile

    Jellyfin works on mobile but not desktop, file format issue ?
    Enla
    Offline

    Junior Member

    Posts: 5
    Threads: 1
    Joined: 2025 Mar
    Reputation: 0
    #1
    2025-03-04, 05:33 PM
    Hello, I have made a bunch of changes to my docker environment and notably enabled hardware transcoding on jellyfin, which seemed to work fine. That is, until I tried to watch something from my browser, where I noticed that it gave me playback errors every time. I tried disabling the transcoding, but I still get the same issue. Could it be because I reencoded all my files to HEVC? And if so, why does it not fail on mobile too ?
    Here are my logs:
    https://pastebin.com/RsyMU4Bf

    Please let me know if any more logs are needed.
    Go to solution
    TheDreadPirate
    Offline

    Community Moderator

    Posts: 15,375
    Threads: 10
    Joined: 2023 Jun
    Reputation: 460
    Country:United States
    #2
    2025-03-04, 06:30 PM
    What are your hardware specs? And can you share your docker compose for the Jellyfin container?
    Jellyfin 10.10.7 (Docker)
    Ubuntu 24.04.2 LTS w/HWE
    Intel i3 12100
    Intel Arc A380
    OS drive - SK Hynix P41 1TB
    Storage
        4x WD Red Pro 6TB CMR in RAIDZ1
    [Image: GitHub%20Sponsors-grey?logo=github]
    Enla
    Offline

    Junior Member

    Posts: 5
    Threads: 1
    Joined: 2025 Mar
    Reputation: 0
    #3
    2025-03-04, 06:53 PM
    (2025-03-04, 06:30 PM)TheDreadPirate Wrote: What are your hardware specs?  And can you share your docker compose for the Jellyfin container?

    I'm running an i7-7100t and use QSV, which I know works as I reencoded a lot of my library with it. As for the full docker compose:

    Code:
      jellyfin:
        image: lscr.io/linuxserver/jellyfin:latest
        container_name: jellyfin
        environment:
          - PUID=${USER_ID}
          - PGID=${GROUP_ID}
          - TZ=${TIMEZONE}
          - JELLYFIN_PublishedServerUrl=${HOSTNAME}/jellyfin
        volumes:
          - ${CONFIG_ROOT:-.}/jellyfin:/config
          - ${DATA_ROOT}:/data
        ports:
          - "7359:7359/udp"
          - "1900:1900/udp"
        restart: always
        healthcheck:
          test: [ "CMD", "curl", "--fail", "http://127.0.0.1:8096/jellyfin/health" ]
          interval: 30s
          retries: 10
        labels:
          - traefik.enable=true
          - traefik.http.routers.jellyfin.rule=(Host(`${HOSTNAME}`) && PathPrefix(`/jellyfin`))
          - traefik.http.routers.jellyfin.tls=true
          - traefik.http.routers.jellyfin.tls.certresolver=myresolver
          - traefik.http.services.jellyfin.loadbalancer.server.port=8096
          - homepage.group=Media
          - homepage.name=Jellyfin
          - homepage.icon=jellyfin.png
          - homepage.href=/jellyfin
          - homepage.description=Media server
          - homepage.weight=4
          - homepage.widget.type=jellyfin
          - homepage.widget.url=http://jellyfin:8096/jellyfin
          - homepage.widget.key=${JELLYFIN_API_KEY}
    TheDreadPirate
    Offline

    Community Moderator

    Posts: 15,375
    Threads: 10
    Joined: 2023 Jun
    Reputation: 460
    Country:United States
    #4
    2025-03-04, 07:22 PM
    You didn't pass in the GPU into the container.

    https://jellyfin.org/docs/general/admini...ualization
    Jellyfin 10.10.7 (Docker)
    Ubuntu 24.04.2 LTS w/HWE
    Intel i3 12100
    Intel Arc A380
    OS drive - SK Hynix P41 1TB
    Storage
        4x WD Red Pro 6TB CMR in RAIDZ1
    [Image: GitHub%20Sponsors-grey?logo=github]
    Enla
    Offline

    Junior Member

    Posts: 5
    Threads: 1
    Joined: 2025 Mar
    Reputation: 0
    #5
    2025-03-04, 07:41 PM
    (2025-03-04, 07:22 PM)TheDreadPirate Wrote: You didn't pass in the GPU into the container.

    https://jellyfin.org/docs/general/admini...ualization

    I actually did, that's my bad. I forgot to add in the  very last lines :
    Code:
        devices:
          - /dev/dri/renderD128:/dev/dri/renderD128
    TheDreadPirate
    Offline

    Community Moderator

    Posts: 15,375
    Threads: 10
    Joined: 2023 Jun
    Reputation: 460
    Country:United States
    #6
    2025-03-04, 11:27 PM
    Can you share the ffmpeg log from the failed transcode?
    Jellyfin 10.10.7 (Docker)
    Ubuntu 24.04.2 LTS w/HWE
    Intel i3 12100
    Intel Arc A380
    OS drive - SK Hynix P41 1TB
    Storage
        4x WD Red Pro 6TB CMR in RAIDZ1
    [Image: GitHub%20Sponsors-grey?logo=github]
    Enla
    Offline

    Junior Member

    Posts: 5
    Threads: 1
    Joined: 2025 Mar
    Reputation: 0
    #7
    2025-03-05, 10:40 AM
    (2025-03-04, 11:27 PM)TheDreadPirate Wrote: Can you share the ffmpeg log from the failed transcode?

    https://pastebin.com/qNab6tNB

    It seems pretty similar to what I see in the jellyfin log I uploaded, hope there'll be more useful info.
    TheDreadPirate
    Offline

    Community Moderator

    Posts: 15,375
    Threads: 10
    Joined: 2023 Jun
    Reputation: 460
    Country:United States
    #8
    2025-03-05, 04:49 PM
    Did you manually type in a render device in the Jellyfin transcoding dashboard? It looks like you mistyped the device name. You appear to have typed "render128" instead of "renderD128". Regardless, you can simply leave that field blank. It is only necessary to fill out that field if you have more than one Intel device available to Jellyfin.
    Jellyfin 10.10.7 (Docker)
    Ubuntu 24.04.2 LTS w/HWE
    Intel i3 12100
    Intel Arc A380
    OS drive - SK Hynix P41 1TB
    Storage
        4x WD Red Pro 6TB CMR in RAIDZ1
    [Image: GitHub%20Sponsors-grey?logo=github]
    1
    Enla
    Offline

    Junior Member

    Posts: 5
    Threads: 1
    Joined: 2025 Mar
    Reputation: 0
    #9
    2025-03-05, 08:01 PM
    (2025-03-05, 04:49 PM)TheDreadPirate Wrote: Did you manually type in a render device in the Jellyfin transcoding dashboard?  It looks like you mistyped the device name.  You appear to have typed "render128" instead of "renderD128".  Regardless, you can simply leave that field blank.  It is only necessary to fill out that field if you have more than one Intel device available to Jellyfin.

    Whoops, that was the issue! Thanks a bunch for your help.
    « Next Oldest | Next Newest »

    Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)


    • View a Printable Version
    • Subscribe to this thread
    Forum Jump:

    Home · Team · Help · Contact
    © Designed by D&D - Powered by MyBB
    L


    Jellyfin

    The Free Software Media System

    Linear Mode
    Threaded Mode