Jellyfin Electron

I’ve thrown together a quick Electron app that simply wraps the Jellyfin web interface.
It is only just finished, so likely has some rough edges that will need some attention (especially on Windows and Linux which I have not tested yet).

It was written because I wanted to have media key and a separate dock icon (rather than hunt down the browser tab to control playback).
Hopefully it is a good base to add extra features & integrations.

Hopefully it’s readme has sufficient instructions to give it a try.
Feedback is welcome.

1 Like

Im not a developer, but want to support you’re project by testing on Linux Ubuntu. Currently using 16.04 - I hope soon to use 20.04.

The following command gives me an .zip that dosen’t work properly:

And you should mention people need to install npm (I knew, but still)…

My debug report:
npm run build
npm ERR! Linux 4.15.0-96-generic
npm ERR! argv “/usr/bin/nodejs” “/usr/bin/npm” “run” “build”
npm ERR! node v4.2.6
npm ERR! npm v3.5.2

npm ERR! missing script: build

WHAT DID I DO:
wget https://github.com/JonEllis/jellyfin-electron/archive/master.zip
unzip master.zip
cd jellyfin-electron
npm run build

Thanks very much for the testing support. Sorry the instructions were bad. I liked how the Jelyfin theater electron repo separated out building for mac/linux/windows, so I did the same but forgot to update the docks.

Also a great idea for saying that npm is needed!

I followed my instructions on a different mac and I was able to get it built and connected to my Jellyfin server.

Would you mind having another go at it?

I know its difficult, im not a programmer, so i can only do the testing, but i’d happyly do that :wink:

It seems like it failed again:
npm run convert-icon

jellyfin-electron@1.0.0 convert-icon /home/username/jelly/jellyfin-electron-master
./convert-icon.sh

Converting logo to icns format