Jellyfin Forum
SOLVED: Jellyfin in Container - Printable Version

+- Jellyfin Forum (https://forum.jellyfin.org)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-support)
+--- Forum: Troubleshooting (https://forum.jellyfin.org/f-troubleshooting)
+--- Thread: SOLVED: Jellyfin in Container (/t-solved-jellyfin-in-container)

Jellyfin in Container - fcs001fcs - 2023-09-18

I have a Terramaster F4-423 NAS that is an Intel Celeron N5095 CPU with integrated GPU (i915) and Terramaster GUI version 5.1.41 which I read is a version of RHEL ("uname -r" results in "5.15.59", which I believe is the Linux Kernal) 

Jellyfin works great but I just cannot get the Hardware Acceleration IntelQuickSync (QSV) working.

I run Jellyfin under a Portainer container and have the Docker Mod "DOCKER_MODS=linuxserver/mods:jellyfin-opencl-intel" included and after extensive google searches, still cannot get the HW Acceleration to work.

It seems the Intel drivers and linked files are setup correctly and running, as far as I can tell, so it should work.

I think I narrowed it down to some permission issues with the "/dev/dri" directory on the host but cannot figure how to get the Jellyfin container set up to allow access to that directory.

Note that Terramaster does not allow a root user but only a "Superuser" with full admin permissions.

The output of "ls -la /dev/dri" is:

Code:
total 0
drwxr-xr-x  3 KJM_SuperUser KJM_SuperUser      100 Sep 17 16:13 .
drwxr-xr-x 17 KJM_SuperUser KJM_SuperUser    4000 Sep 17 16:13 ..
drwxr-xr-x  2 KJM_SuperUser KJM_SuperUser      80 Sep 17 16:13 by-path
crw-rw----  1 KJM_SuperUser video        226,  0 Sep 17 16:13 card0
crw-rw----  1 KJM_SuperUser video        226, 128 Sep 17 16:13 renderD128

How do I allow Jellyfin in a container to use the "video" Group for access to the "renderD128" on the host or is there something else I messed up?

As you can probably tell, I am a beginner with Linux and containers, etc... so any help would be appreciated.